Indianapolis Colts: History, Titles, Cast, and Greatest Idols

Indianapolis Colts

Everything from the Indianapolis Colts, pre and post Super Bowl titles, change of venue, stadium, mascot, records and trivia!

Did you know that the Indianapolis Colts were founded in another state and their change of venue was one of the most controversial in NFL history?

Are you curious? For the history of the Indianapolis Colts and what happened at the franchise change, stay with us.

We will also tell you how many titles the Colts have won, before and after the Super Bowl, who owns the franchise, what is its stadium and who are the greatest idols in its history.

Don't waste your time and learn everything about the Colts!

When were the Indianapolis Colts created?

The Indianapolis Colts were created in 1953, but like the Baltimore Colts. The franchise remained in Baltimore, Maryland, until 1984, when it moved to Indianapolis.

The Colts' move from Baltimore to Indianapolis is controversial and deemed surprising, sparking a revolt by many Baltimore residents toward then-franchise owner Robert Irsay.

Irsay reached an agreement with then-Indianapolis Mayor William Hudnut, who arranged to send 15 trucks to Baltimore to ensure transportation for the entire Colts team.

Within 8 hours, all of the franchise's belongings had been transported to Indiana, while the state of Maryland passed a law giving Baltimore the right to take possession of the Colts; since the movement was extremely agile, the approval of the law was delayed. and without effectiveness.

In 1996, 12 years after the Colts left, Baltimore received a new franchise in the NFL, with the creation of the Ravens by Art Modell, former owner of the Cleveland Browns.

What is the city and state of the Indianapolis Colts?

Founded in Baltimore, Maryland, the Indianapolis Colts have been, since 1984, an NFL franchise based in the city of Indianapolis, Indiana.

In addition to the Colts in the NFL, Indianapolis has the Indiana Pacers in the NBA and the Indiana Fever in the WNBA.

The city is also the setting for the Indianapolis 500, one of the most traditional races in motorsports and part of the Formula Indy calendar.

What is the name of the Indianapolis Colts stadium?

Lucas Oil Stadium is the home of the Indianapolis Colts

The Indianapolis Colts play their games at Lucas Oil Stadium

The Indianapolis Colts play their NFL home games at Lucas Oil Stadium. Inaugurated on August 16, 2008, the stadium had an estimated construction cost of US $ 720 million.

The Lucas Oil Stadium has a capacity for 67 thousand people, with the possibility of expanding to 70 thousand spectators. It replaced the RCA Dome, former home of the Indianapolis Colts.

What division of the Indianapolis Colts?

The Indianapolis Colts is one of four franchises in the Southern Division of the American Football Conference (AFC).

In addition to the Colts, they are part of the AFC South: Houston Texans, Jacksonville Jaguars and Tennessee Titans.

Who owns the Indianapolis Colts?

Jim Irsay owner of the Indianapolis Colts

Jim Irsay has owned the Indianapolis Colts since the death of his father in 1997.

The Indianapolis Colts are owned by Jim Irsay. He was 12 when his father, Robert Irsay, bought the then Baltimore Colts.

In 1984, Jim Irsay was named vice president and general manager of the franchise. After his father suffered a stroke in 1995, he took over for the Colts.

However, after Robert's death in 1997, Jim Irsay had to face a legal battle with his stepmother to confirm ownership of the Indianapolis Colts. At age 37, he became the youngest owner of an NFL franchise.

How many conference titles do the Indianapolis Colts have?








The Indianapolis Colts are three-time American Football Conference (AFC) champions. The titles of this conference won by the franchise were in 1970, 2006 and 2009.

However, the Colts had already won four other conference titles prior to the 1970 NFL-AFL merger. The franchise was the NFL Western champion in 1958, 1959, 1964 and 1968.

Here's how many times the Colts have won the Super Bowl!

How many Super Bowl titles do the Indianapolis Colts have?

Super Bowl V

Super Bowl XLI

Tony Dungy and Peyton Manning Indianapolis Colts Super Bowl XLI Champion

Under Tony Dungy and led by Peyton Manning, the Colts won Super Bowl XLI.

The Indianapolis Colts have two Super Bowl titles, won in Editions V and XLI. The first of them was achieved when the franchise was still the Baltimore Colts and they defeated the Dallas Cowboys 16-13. In the new home, the Indianapolis Colts won Super Bowl XLI with a 29-17 victory over the Chicago Bears.

Three years after their second title, the Colts returned to the Super Bowl, but were defeated in the XLIV edition by the New Orleans Saints, 31-17.

Before the Super Bowl era, the Colts won 3 NFL titles, in 1958, 1959, 1968.

The 1968 NFL title propelled the Baltimore Colts to Super Bowl III against then-AFL champion New York Jets. In the duel between the winners of the two leagues, the Jets won 16-7.

What is the Indianapolis Colts mascot?

Indianapolis Colts Blue Mascot

Blue has been the mascot of the Indianapolis Colts since 2006

The Indianapolis Colts mascot is Blue, a blue horse that wears the franchise's white shirt with the Colts' trademark horseshoe symbol.

Blue was created in September 2006 and its first appearance was in the Colts' victory over the Houston Texans, 43-24.

The best players in the history of the Indianapolis Colts

Peyton manning

Johnny unitas

young friend

Lenny Moore

Donovan Art

Jim Parker

Raymond Berry

Gino Marchetti

Peyton Manning in the NFL Draft

University of Tennessee quarterback Peyton Manning was the first pick in the 1998 draft

The best players in the history of the Indianapolis Colts are honored by the franchise with the retirement of the number they used while defending the team. To date, the numbers of 8 former athletes have been retired. Among them are the quarterbacks of the two Super Bowl titles won by the Colts: Johnny Unitas and Peyton Manning.

Johnny Unitas was nicknamed "The Golden Arm" or Golden Arm. He spent most of his career playing for the Baltimore Colts and was the NFL's Most Valuable Player in 1959, 1964, and 1967.

For 52 years, Unitas held the record for the most consecutive games with a touchdown pass (set between 1956 and 1960), even surpassed in 2012 by Drew Brees of the New Orleans Saints.

Since Peyton Manning was selected by the Indianapolis Colts in the 1998 NFL draft and defended the franchise until 2012. For the Colts, the quarterback played the Super Bowl twice and won the XLI edition title. He later he was also champion of the Denver Broncos.

Manning's replacement on the Colts was Andrew Luck, drafted in the 2012 NFL draft. However, prior to the 2019/2020 season, Luck announced his retirement at age 29, justifying that he was mentally drained.

The best coaches in the history of the Indianapolis Colts

Don McCafferty

Tony dungy

Don shula

Tony Dungy Indianapolis Colts

Tony Dungy was the head coach of the Indianapolis Colts for the Super Bowl XLI title

Among the best coaches in the history of the Indianapolis Colts, Don McCafferty and Tony Dugy are the ones who won the Super Bowl for the franchise. McCafferty was the first rookie to be champion when the Baltimore Colts won Super Bowl V. Tony Dungy was the first black head coach to win the Super Bowl, in the XLI edition.

In 2008, Dungy even set a new NFL record for consecutive playoff appearances, with 10 ratings.

Two other coaches led the Colts to the Super Bowl but were defeated. Don Shula, who had been an NFL champion with the Colts in 1968, lost Super Bowl III to Weeb Ewbank's New York Jets. Jim Caldwell was defeated in Super Bowl XLIV, by the New Orleans Saints, led by Sean Payton.

The list indicates who the holders and reserves are. Do you have any questions about the positions? Understand all the roles of soccer players on the field!