New York Giants: history, titles, great idols and cast

New York Giants: history, titles, great idols and cast

See trivia, records, the best coaches and players in history, and the New York Giants Super Bowl titles

The New York Giants are not the most victorious team in NFL history, but they are undoubtedly one of the most traditional.

And it's not that tradition doesn't reflect achievement. The Giants are among the greatest champions in soccer history, with titles before and after the creation of the Super Bowl.

In recent years, the franchise has bet its chips on the leadership of Eli Manning, younger brother of legendary quarterback Peyton Manning. At the end of the 2019 season he announced his retirement.

Whether you are a fan of the New York team or not, a true soccer expert knows all about the history of the New York Giants!

That said, stay with us and learn all the details of the franchise!

Infographic: New York Giants History and Titles

All about the New York Giants

When were the New York Giants created?

Founded in 1925, the New York Giants are one of only five teams to join the NFL that year and the only one of the group that still exists. The first game in team history was against All New Britain in New Britain, Connecticut, on October 4, 1925, winning 26-0.

What is the city and state of the New York Giants?

The New York Giants is a franchise based in the New York metropolitan area, one of the most populated cities in the world and which also gives its name to the state where it is located. The team organizes its games at MetLife Stadium, a stadium shared with the New York Jets. The Giants training center is located at the Meadowlands Sports Complex.

What division of the New York Giants?

The Giants compete in the NFL as a franchise of the National Conference (NFC) and the Eastern Division. In the eastern division, the New York Giants are joined by the Dallas Cowboys, the Philadelphia Eagles and the Washington Redskins.

The other three divisions of the National Conference are made up of the following franchises:

North (North): Chicago Bears, Detroit Lions, Green Bay Packers, Minnesota Vikings

South (south): Atlanta Falcons, Carolina Panthers, New Orleans Saints, Tampa Bay Buccaneers

West (west): Arizona Cardinals, Los Angeles Rams, San Francisco 49ers, Seattle Seahawks

How many conference titles do the New York Giants have?

Taking into account both the pre-Super Bowl era and the period since the creation of the largest sporting event in the United States, the New York Giants have 11 conference titles.

The achievements can be divided as follows:

NFL East: 1956, 1958, 1959, 1961, 1962, 1963

NFC: 1986 (XXI), 1990 (XXV), 2000 (XXXV), 2007 (XLII), 2011 (XLVI)

How many Super Bowl titles do the New York Giants have?

In the pre-Super Bowl era, the New York Giants won 4 NFL titles, in 1927, 1934, 1938, 1956. Subsequently, the franchise reached 5 Super Bowls and won 4 of them (editions XXI, XXV, XLII and XLVI ).

The Giants' first Super Bowl titles came against the Denver Broncos and Buffalo Bills.

In the last two victories, under quarterback Eli Manning, the New York Giants have beaten Tom Brady's New England Patriots.

Participations in the Super Bowl: 5 (editions XXI, XXV, XXXV, XLII and XLVI)

Super Bowl titles: 4 (XXI, XXV, XLII and XLVI editions)

Titles before the Super Bowl era: 4 NFL titles (1927, 1934, 1938, 1956)

New York Giants Super Bowl Title List

Super Bowl XXI (1987)

Super Bowl XXV (1991)

Super Bowl XLII (2008)

Super Bowl XLVI (2012)

Who owns the New York Giants?

The New York Giants franchise belongs to John Mara and Steve Tisch. Mara joined the Giants in 1988, where she served as general counsel and then executive vice president and chief operating officer until her father's death in 2005, when she assumed the team chairmanship.

Tisch was named president and executive vice president of the New York Giants in 2005. Owned by John Mara and Steve Tisch, the Giants won Super Bowl XLII and Super Bowl XLVI.

What is the name of the New York Giants stadium?

The New York Giants play their NFL home games at MetLife Stadium, a stadium that is shared with the New York Jets and seats 82,500. While both franchises are from New York, MetLife Stadium is located in East Rutherford, New Jersey.

Opened on April 10, 2010, the current home of the Giants and Jets replaced the old Giants Stadium, which has been where the Giants have played since 1976 and the Jets since 1984.

Construction costs of $ 1.6 billion for MetLife Stadium were split between the two franchises, and management is handled by MetLife Stadium Company, LLC.

Initially, the stadium was called New Meadowlands Stadium, until, in 2011, MetLife, a New York insurance company, acquired the rights to the name.

MetLife Stadium hosted Super Bowl XLVIII, which took place on February 2, 2014, and was won by the Seattle Seahawks against the Denver Broncos, 43-8.

Who are the best players in the history of the New York Giants?

During their history, the New York Giants have inducted 15 players into the NFL Hall of Fame. Some of them have been winners of the league MVP award: Mel Hein, Frank Gifford, Charlie Conerly, YA Tittle and Lawrence Taylor.

Eli Manning, New York Giants Super Bowl Champion

In recent history, quarterback Eli Manning deserves a special mention. He was drafted into the top pick of the 2004 NFL draft and helped the franchise win two editions of the Super Bowl (XLII and XLVI), defeating the New England Patriots in both games.

In the two editions in which he led the Giants titles, Eli Manning was named Super Bowl MVP.

The quarterback announced his retirement at the end of the 2019 season. That way, he will soon join the roster of players who had numbers retired by the Giants. See who's already on this list below.