Top 5 Argentine players with the most trophies to date

Argentina regularly produces some of the best players in the world. Many Argentine players have won the highest honors at club level and are key strikers for their teams. On that note, let's take a look at the Top 5 Argentine players with the most trophies to date.

1/ Lionel Messi (38 titles)

Lionel Messi is arguably the greatest player of all time, so it's no surprise that he tops this list. Messi won every trophy possible with Barcelona. As the Catalan club's most important man, the attacking superstar made his debut in 2004 and made 778 appearances in all competitions for the team, scoring an incredible 672 goals and providing 305 lanes. construction.

The 34-year-old Messi has won 10 La Liga titles and 4 Champions League titles and many domestic and continental titles. With Argentina, Messi went through a long drought, but he was the best player in the Copa America 2021 and Argentina won the title by beating Brazil in the final at the Maracana.

2/ Angel Di Maria (30 titles)

Angel Di Maria has achieved so much in his career, and only a single poor season with Manchester United did not play a decisive role in his career. A creative, technically gifted striker, Di Maria joined Real Madrid from Benfica in 2010. He helped the club win a La Liga title and a Champions League. Di Maria was awarded the Man of the Match award for his performance in the 2014 Champions League final.

The Argentinian attacker moved to Manchester United in a massive transfer that year, but the transfer was unsuccessful. As a result, Di Maria decided to join Paris Saint-Germain in 2015 - where he consistently displayed his world-class qualities. The 33-year-old won four Ligue 1 titles with the French club, and scored the only goal in the 2021 Copa America final to help Argentina win the trophy.

3/ Carlos Tevez (29 titles)

At his peak, Carlos Tevez was considered one of the best strikers in the world. A product of the Boca Juniors academy, Tevez made his name at Corinthians and began his European adventure when he joined West Ham United in 2006. His performances caught the attention of Manchester United. There, Tevez played alongside the likes of Cristiano Ronaldo and Wayne Rooney, and won two Premier League titles and the Champions League.

A versatile, hard-working attacker, Tevez moved to Manchester City in a controversial deal in 2009. There he helped make Manchester City one of the best clubs in England, and won another Premier League title before moving to Juventus. Tevez won 2 Serie A titles with the Bianconeri before returning to Boca Juniors in 2015 and he is currently a free agent.

4/ Lucho Gonzalez (2 8  titles)

Lucho Gonzalez may not be a household name, but the Argentinian has enjoyed a trophy-laden career. Gonzalez has appeared for many clubs during his career, but is perhaps best known for his two appearances for Porto. A product of the Huracan academy, Gonzalez moved to River Plate and then joined Porto in 2005.

In two appearances for the Portuguese Giants, Gonzalez won 6 national championships. Between those miracles at Porto was playing time against Marseille. There, the Argentina international won 1 Ligue 1 title and 3 Coupe de la Ligue titles. Gonzalez was part of the Argentina team that won the gold medal at the 2004 Summer Olympics. He retired this year.

5/ Javier Mascherano (25 titles)

Javier Mascherano is a key element of an excellent Barcelona squad. An aggressive player as well as known for his hard work and defense, Mascherano made a name for himself at Liverpool before moving to Barcelona in 2010 for £18 million. The Argentina international operated as both a defensive midfielder and a centre-back during his time with Barcelona, ​​making few mistakes over his seven seasons at the club.

Mascherano has won 5 La Liga titles with Barcelona as well as 2 Champions Leagues. With Argentina, he won two Olympic gold medals and played in the 2014 World Cup final, which Argentina lost to Germany. The 37-year-old player has now retired from the pitch.


Copyright © All Sports One