Top 5 best goalkeepers in the world over the past decade

Perhaps the most underrated position in football is the goalkeeper. They very rarely get the praise they deserve. A single mistake from those who block an opponent's shot can be costly and it takes mental strength to perform that role. On that note, let's list the Top 5 best goalkeepers in the world over the past decade.

1/ Manuel Neuer

Manuel Neuer helped Germany win the 2014 World Cup and won the UEFA Champions League with Bayern Munich in the 2012-13 season. He was widely considered the best goalkeeper for at least half a decade (from 2010-2015) and the German keeper has raised the bar by adding his excellent passing ability.

However, since 2017, his form began to decline. For a brief period of time over the past decade, it seems that the best of Manuel Neuer has been behind him. Many fans and experts think that Bayern Munich should choose to buy a new first-team goalkeeper. However, the Germany international overcame those problems and became once again one of the best goalkeepers in the world at the age of 35 and won the treble with Bayern Munich in the 2019-20 season.

2/ Jan Oblak

Considered by many to be the best goalkeeper in the world, Jan Oblak is an important link in Atletico Madrid's team. He joined Atletico Madrid from Benfica in 2014, and was originally a backup for Miguel Angel Moya. However, the Slovenia international took advantage of Moya's injury to become Atletico Madrid's No 1 goalkeeper of choice, and he has not backed down since.

Boasting excellent reflexes and leadership qualities, Oblak has flourished in Spain. He made 303 appearances in all competitions for Atletico Madrid. The goalkeeper has won the La Liga Zamora Trophy and La Liga Best Goalkeeper awards four times in the past decade. He also won La Liga last season.

3/ Keylor Navas

Navas is a world-class goalkeeper who showcased his talents at the 2014 World Cup in a Costa Rica shirt, thereby helping him move to Real Madrid. After a season on the bench, the Costa Rica international became the first-choice goalkeeper for Los Blancos and played a key role in Real Madrid winning three consecutive Champions League titles.

However, the club's decision to sign Thibaut Courtois from Chelsea left Navas on the bench once again. Paris Saint-Germain signed the Costa Rican goalkeeper in 2019, and the 34-year-old keeper has once again shown his abilities by helping the Ligue 1 giants reach the Champions League final in 2020.

4/ David de Gea

It's hard to imagine where Manchester United would be over the past decade without David de Gea's performance in goal. De Gea is Manchester United's best goalkeeper of the past decade and also the best goalkeeper in the Premier League. The Spain international was a world-class keeper early in his career and often let opponents' attackers down with his miraculous saves.

The former Atletico Madrid goalkeeper has won the Premier League once in the past decade. He was named to the PFA Team of the Year five times, received the Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year award four times and won the Premier League Golden Glove award for the 2017-18 season. David de Gea has struggled in recent seasons but remains one of Manchester United's greatest players in the Premier League.

5/ Gianluigi Buffon

Buffon joined Juventus from Parma in 2001 for £47.6 million, making him the most expensive goalkeeper in the world at the time. The former Italy international has become a favorite keeper with his performances for the club, and his decision to stay with Juventus despite the team's relegation in 2006 was rejected. The Turin club's fans received it very positively.

The goalkeeper made 656 appearances in all competitions during his first stint with Juventus. Over the past decade, he has won eight Serie A titles with the Old Lady and reached two Champions League finals. He is also the winner of the Serie A Best Goalkeeper award four times in a row. With Paris Saint-Germain, Buffon won Ligue 1 and returned to Juventus in 2019. The 43-year-old keeper rejoined Parma last month.


Copyright © All Sports One