Kansas City Chiefs: History, Titles, Memories, and Idols

Kansas City Chiefs

Learn all about Kansas City Chiefs: franchise history, Super Bowl titles, top players and coaches, owners, and stadium

The history of American football in Brazil is directly related to the Kansas City Chiefs! Do you know the reason?

Kansas City Chiefs was the franchise responsible for recruiting the first Brazilian player to appear in regular season and NFL playoff games: kicker Cairo Santos.

Cairo played for the Chiefs between 2014 and 2017, when he was released due to injury.

With the help of the Brazilian kicker and also after his departure, the team struggled for a playoff spot in recent NFL seasons. Now led by quarterback Patrick Mahomes, the franchise has returned to champion after 50 years.

Do you know how many times the Chiefs have been Super Bowl champions?

Stay with us and we will tell you the answer to that question and all the details of the history of the Kansas City Chiefs!

When were the Kansas City Chiefs created?

The franchise that is today the Kansas City Chiefs was created in 1960, but in another city and under a different name. Initially, the team was the Dallas Texans, founded by businessman Lamar Hunt and playing in the American Football League (AFL).

In 1963, the franchise moved to Kansas City and took its current name. The Chiefs joined the NFL as a result of merging with the AFL in 1970.

What is the city and state of the Kansas City Chiefs?

As the name of the franchise indicates, the Kansas City Chiefs is an American football team based in Kansas City, Missouri.

Kansas City has teams in two other major sports leagues:

Kansas City Royals, in Major League Baseball (MLB);

Sporting Kansas City in Major League Soccer (MLS).

Do you love sports other than football? Here in Esportelândia we also talk about:

What division of the Kansas City Chiefs?

The Kansas City Chiefs are one of four teams that play in the Western Division of the American Football Conference (AFC).

In addition to the Chiefs, there are also AFC West: Denver Broncos, Oakland Raiders and Los Angeles Chargers.

Who owns the Kansas City Chiefs?

Lamar Hunt founder of Kansas City Chiefs

Lamar Hunt was the founder of the Kansas City Chiefs and owner of the franchise until his death in 2006.

The Kansas City Chiefs belong to the Hunt family of founder Lamar Hunt.

After Hunt's death on December 13, 2006 from prostate cancer, his son Clark was named president of the Kansas City Chiefs, having been elected by Hunt's other sons, Lamar Hunt Jr., Sharron Munson and Daniel. Hunt.

Although Hunt's wife and children share legal ownership of the Chiefs, Clark represents the team at all league meetings and handles the team's day-to-day responsibilities.

How many conference titles do the Kansas City Chiefs have?

The Kansas City Chiefs won their first American Football Conference (AFC) title on January 19, 2020. Under the leadership of quarterback Patrick Mahomes, the team beat the Tennessee Titans in the conference final.

The two previous times the franchise reached the Super Bowl was after winning the American Football League (AFL) title.

During the period of discussion about a merger between the AFL and the NFL, a confrontation between the champions of the two leagues was arranged in January 1967, in the first edition of the history of the Super Bowl. The Kansas City Chiefs defeated the Buffalo Bills in the AFL final and advanced to face the Green Bay Packers in Super Bowl I.

In the 1969 AFL Championship Game, the Kansas City Chiefs beat the Oakland Raiders, 17-7. And so the franchise went to Super Bowl IV, in January 1970, to face the Minnesota Vikings, then the NFL champion. .

Do you want to know the result of the confrontations between the AFL and NFL champions and who won the Super Bowl titles? Coming up next, we tell you!

How many Super Bowl titles do the Kansas City Chiefs have?

Kansas City Chiefs Super Bowl IV Champion

Led by quarterback Len Dawson, Kansas City Chiefs won Super Bowl IV

The Kansas City Chiefs have two Super Bowl titles. The achievements were separated by 50 years.

The franchise won the Vince Lombardi trophy for the first time in Edition IV, held on January 11, 1970 in New Orleans, Louisiana. In the duel with the Minnesota Vikings, the Chiefs were champions with a 23-7 victory.

That was the franchise's second participation in the largest sporting event in the United States. The Kansas City Chiefs played in the first edition of Super Bowl history and were defeated by the Green Bay Packers, 35-10.

Since they won champions in1970, the Kansas City Chiefs had never played in the Super Bowl again. The fast ended in the 2019/2020 season.

Patrick Mahomes and company won an exceptional game with a spectacular comeback over the San Francisco 49ers and won Super Bowl LIV.

It is worth remembering that, before AFC-NFL merger, the Chiefs won three AFL titles: 1962, 1966, 1969. It's worth noting that the latter two led the franchise to the Super Bowl.