Las Vegas Raiders: titles, history and change of venue

Las Vegas Raiders

Everything about the Las Vegas Raiders: the Oakland exit, the new stadium, the Super Bowl titles, the idols, the best coaches and the cast.

More than casinos, lightning weddings and bachelor parties like the one in the movie If Drinking Don't Marry, Las Vegas has also become the setting for big soccer games starting in 2020.

Founded as the Oakland Raiders in 1960, the NFL franchise was renamed the Las Vegas Raiders in 2020.

Now that the Raiders have moved their headquarters, take the opportunity to stay up-to-date on all the details of the franchise's history, Super Bowl titles, top idols and coaches, records, and trivia.

Come with us and learn all about the Los Vegas Raiders, formerly the Oakland Raiders!

When was the Las Vegas Raiders created?

Las Vegas Raiders was created on January 30, 1960 under the name Oakland Raiders. Initially, the franchise competed in the American Football League (AFL), which merged with the NFL in 1970.

Between 1982 and 1994, the Raiders played in Los Angeles. In the 2020/2021 NFL season, the team changed headquarters again and became the Las Vegas Raiders.

What is the city and state of Las Vegas Raiders?

Las Vegas Raiders is an NFL franchise based in Las Vegas, Nevada. Until the 2019/2020 season, the soccer team played in the city of Oakland, California.

Las Vegas is the third city of the Raiders in their history. In 1982, due to disagreements with the Oakland Coliseum, the then owner of the franchise, Al Davis, obtained judicial authorization to take the team to Los Angeles; the change of venue had not been approved by the NFL. In 1994, the Raiders returned to Oakland.

See more about the current home of the Las Vegas Raiders below!

What is the name of the Las Vegas Raiders stadium?

Allegiant Satadium for the Las Vegas Raiders

Allegiant Stadium is the new stadium for the Las Vegas Raiders

Since the start of the 2020/2021 NFL season, the Las Vegas Raiders have played their home games at Allegiant Stadium in Las Vegas.

For the construction of the new Raiders stadium in Las Vegas, 1,900 million dollars were invested. The Allegiant Stadium will have a capacity of 65,000 seats.

Until the end of the 2019/2020 season, the former Oakland Raiders played their home games at the Oakland Coliseum. Founded in 1966, it was one of the oldest stadiums in the NFL.

Moving to a new stadium was one of the main motivations for the Raiders to change venues. Very old, the Oakland Coliseum does not have the structure desired by the NFL franchise. In addition, it is shared with Oakland Athletics, the team that plays in the Major Leagues.

What division of the Las Vegas Raiders?

The Las Vegas Raider plays for the Western Division of the American Football Conference (AFC).

In addition to the Raiders, there are also AFC West: Denver Broncos, Kansas City Chiefs and the Los Angeles Chargers.

Who owns the Oakland Raiders?

Mark Davis owns Oakland Raiders

Al Davis' son, Mark Davis is the owner of Raiders

The owner of the Las Vegas Raiders is Mark Davis, an American businessman. He became the owner of the franchise in 2011 after the death of his father Al Davis, a former owner of the Raiders.

Mark Davis was primarily responsible for moving the Raiders headquarters from Oakland, California, to Las Vegas, Nevada.

How many conference titles do the Oakland Raiders have?





Throughout their history, the Raiders have won four American Football Conference (AFC) titles. The franchise was a conference champion in 1976, 1980, 1983, and 2002.

With all four AFC titles, the Raiders played in four editions of the Super Bowl. Find out how many times they won the Vince Lombardi trophy below!

How many Super Bowl titles do the Las Vegas Raiders have?

Super Bowl XI

Super Bowl XV

Super Bowl XVIII

Los Angeles Raiders and Washington Redskins Super Bowl XVIII

Los Angeles Raiders beat the Washington Redskins in Super Bowl XVIII

The Las Vegas Raiders have three Super Bowl titles in their history, two of them as the Oakland Raiders and one as the Los Angeles Raiders. The franchise took the XI, XV and XVIII editions. However, in total, there were five Raiders appearances in the Super Bowl.

The Raiders played in Super Bowl II, but were defeated by the Green Bay Packers. The franchise returned to league decision four more times and won three titles, in Super Bowls XI, XV and XVIII. The last of these achievements came when the team moved to Los Angeles.

In 1994, the Raiders returned to Oakland. Back at its former home, the team played in Super Bowl XXXVII, but lost to the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

In addition to the 3 Super Bowl titles, the Raiders also hold an American Football League (AFL) title in 1967, before merging with the NFL.

All Las Vegas Raiders Super Bowl Tickets

Super Bowl II - Green Bay Packers 33 x 14 Oakland Raiders

Super Bowl XI - Oakland Raiders 32 x 14 Minnesota Vikings

Super Bowl XV - Oakland Raiders 27 x 10 Philadelphia Eagles

Super Bowl XVIII - Los Angeles Raiders 38 x 9 Washington Redskins

Super Bowl XXXVII - Tampa Bay Buccaneers 48 x 21 Oakland Raiders

What is the mascot of the Las Vegas Raiders?

Raider Rusher mascot Raiders

Raider Rusher has been the Raiders mascot since 2013

The Las Vegas Raiders only had one mascot in 2013. He was named Raider Rusher and is a character in an animated series called "NFL Rush Zone," co-produced by the NFL and Nickelodeon.

The Raiders, who never had a mascot like this until 2013, believe that Raider Rusher can bring the franchise closer to children.